Leaving the Scene of an Accident is a serious crime in Florida. Also referred to as a “Hit and Run”, leaving the scene of an accident can lead to felony or misdemeanor charges, depending on the type and severity of the accident.
Charged with Leaving The Scene of an Accident?
Penalties for leaving the scene include fines, points assigned to your driver’s license or the loss of your license, and a criminal conviction on your record. You can also expect your auto insurance rates to increase.
Also known as a “hit and run”, penalties can include loss of your license, criminal charges, jail time and more depending on the severity of the crime. Call Hugh now discuss your legal options.
If you have been charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident, contact Hugh James McDonnell for criminal defense representation. The stakes are too high to risk not defending yourself with an experienced criminal defense attorney. Mr. McDonnell will research the facts of the case and fight vigorously for your rights.
Your Duties Under Florida Law And The Different Types of Leaving The Scene Charges
Leaving the Scene of an Accident charge has to do with several legal duties that you have as a driver in the State of Florida. It is the neglect in fulfilling those duties that makes leaving the scene such a serious offense.
Under Florida law, Leaving the Scene of the Accident charges may fall under four broad categories:
- Crashes involving death or personal injuries.
- Crashes involving damage to vehicle or property.
- Duty to give information and render aid.
- Duty upon damaging unattended vehicle or other property.
You can be charged with leaving the scene of an accident even if you were not at fault for the accident and even if your vehicle suffered no damage.
Contact Hugh James McDonnell For Leaving The Scene Of An Accident Defense
If you have been charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Orlando or Central Florida, contact Hugh James McDonnell at 888-422-4200 to discuss your defense options in a confidential manner.
The firm is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 888-422-4200 or you may schedule a confidential initial consultation online.
Legal representation is your best chance to protect your driving record and avoid criminal charges.